A meeting between then Assistant Commissioner Roy Berlinquette, Chief Mac Carlisle and 1997 CACP Coordinator Roger Shannon in March of 1996 initiated the construction of a memorial in honor of New Brunswick’s Peace Officers who have died in the line of duty. A committee was assembled consisting of individuals from the Fredericton Police Force, RCMP and government and public sectors.

The memorial structure was designed and constructed mainly with the ideas of Fredericton Police Officer/Artist Cst. Dale Carruthers. Carruthers spent two months cutting and hand milling the timber for the memorial; as well as building it. The floor of the Memorial is painted with the Provincial emblems. Many thanks go out to the business community for their financial support as well as the ongoing groups who have raised money to help pay the ongoing debt.

The Peace Officer’s Memorial was dedicated on August 25th, 1997 as part of the opening ceremonies for the 1997 Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police Conference and is a beautiful tribute to the individuals who made the ultimate sacrifice in the line of duty. Father Ken Weir and Fredericton Police Force Chaplain Dean Brown officiated and Jodie Shannon sang O Canada as the Provincial and Canadian Flags were raised. Masters of Ceremonies duties were shared by Rick Daigle of “J” Division RCMP and Roger Shannon of the Fredericton Police Force. A special thanks to the Moncton Police Force Pipe and Drum Band for leading the parade.

The Memorial is located along the banks of the Saint John River near the intersection of Smythe Street and Saint Anne Point Drive. The monument is housed by a timber structure with a complete brick style parade square, a beautiful tribute to the individuals who have given their life for duty.